Thinking Of You…

Anne Belchamber 9-01-1936 - 31-01-2013

To my Mum, Anne Belchamber 9th March 1936 – 31st January 2013

Thinking Of You

When I’ve no more love to share
When laughter’s only canned
When a smile’s more than I can give
I’ll think of you

When my glass is half empty
And it’s someone else’s fault
I’ll look deeply in the mirror
And think of you

When I’m sitting at a table
With family and friends
When I have ‘just one more glass
I’ll think of you

When I watch my children grow
And go out into the world
I’ll try to act with wisdom
And think of you

When I feel the warmth of the sun
When the ocean cleanses my soul
When I hear or give a whistle
I’ll think of you

When I lend a helping hand
If somehow I just know
I’ll try to make things better
And think of you

Thinking of you now
Seeing past the tears
Hand’s upon my heart
Smiles, love and laugher

(c) John Belchamber 2013
All rights reserved.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Family Stuff, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thinking Of You…

  1. Gracy says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your mom. Very touching poem; so wonderfully scripted.

  2. Sainter says:

    Beautiful words. 🙂

    Sonnets are full of love, and this my tome
    Has many sonnets: so here now shall be
    One sonnet more, a love sonnet, from me
    To her whose heart is my heart’s quiet home,
    To my first Love, my Mother, on whose knee
    I learnt love-lore that is not troublesome;
    Whose service is my special dignity,
    And she my loadstar while I go and come
    And so because you love me, and because
    I love you, Mother, I have woven a wreath
    Of rhymes wherewith to crown your honored name:
    In you not fourscore years can dim the flame
    Of love, whose blessed glow transcends the laws
    Of time and change and mortal life and death.

    Christina Rossetti (1881)

  3. jrbsays says:

    To my first Love, my Mother, on whose knee
    I learnt love-lore that is not troublesome;

    …yes indeed 🙂

  4. This is beautiful, precious and touching…to tears. So much love and so much light…

  5. becca givens says:

    I am sorry to read about your mom … What a very lovely tribute to her.

Leave a Reply

