A Where Were You Moment?

In a lifetime there are those moments that you never forget where you were when it happened. Watching Felix Baaumgartner step from his tiny capsule to commence his supersonic freefall from (aprox) 39 Kilometres above our planet is one such moment.

I’ve watched and re-watched the video below and each time my stomach lurches when Felix takes that step. My mind boggles as I watch him tumbling out of control for what seems like an age and my eyes fill with tears of joy as I see him (and his support team) celebrating a (seemingly) perfect landing.

For some reason, I felt slightly strange that there were no NASA insignia in sight and I confess to being indifferent to the logos that were visible… however, I’m so pleased that there are still adventurers in this world and, that there are still adventures on and out of it that they haven’t yet had. It is endeavours like these that are the very stuff of legends and we were there to verify that it was human endeavour, not superstition, that made them a fact of life!

Felix and crew, I thank you for giving us this positive image that will stay with us forever. To the next Felix, you are the very essence of what makes Humankind different from other species, long may you last!

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in As I See It, Random Musing, Uncategorized, Video Post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Where Were You Moment?

  1. Sainter says:

    Hear hear! The world needs adventurers to keep pushing the envelope. That’s what humans do, test the boundaries, strive for excellence in new ways. And as you say, we are privileged to bear witness to the reality of it.

    I was enthralled watching the footage – hard to put into words really. Seeing him take the tumble in that deep blue environment seemed almost other wordly and yet it was very much of this world. A top post! 🙂

  2. brudberg says:

    I’m actually old enough to vaguely remember watching the first man on the moon… Saw it with a babysitter, my parents were absent.

  3. Sainter says:

    I watched it in the high school gym on Channel 9 – the school set up an old black and white tv then herded classes in on a roster basis. Channel 9 made the Guinness Book of Records for the longest continous live broadcast. I was about 12 years old and remember it well … though I don’t recall seeing him step off the ladder – our class was probably doing maths when it happened. 🙂

Leave a Reply

