50 Renowned Academics Speaking About God

I came across this video on You tube this evening and feel that it’s something that should be shared and discussed. Whether you are a believer, undecided or godless, if you have an open mind on this topic the video is worth a view.

I shall not pass comment, but I hope that after viewing this, you will.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Atheist, Humanist, Religion, Video Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 50 Renowned Academics Speaking About God

  1. Mel says:

    In the beginning there was darkness, and man feared the unknown within the darkness, therefore he closed his eyes. Sleep overcame man and he dreamed of a likeness who would protect him from his fears, and he called it god. Man walked upon the earth in this slumber talking to his god and this god eased man’s feelings of suffering. Man shared this ease with others, and as they shared their dreams of god, a doctrine of belief was born. Soon the entire village was talking to god, until one day, there were conflicting messages from different villagers about god’s direction for man. The conflict escalated until god caused all mankind to destroy itself. In the end, there was only darkness.

    As the light of day broke on the horizon, the man awoke, brushed the earth from his garments, shook his head, and as he set off to hunt his food and feed his family, he said, “Dude, that was a strange dream, I really should avoid eating those funny looking leaves.”

    — The purpose of my existence, is to exist for a purpose. To realize my time here is limited, the journey is unpredictable, and circumstances are just that, but, to use all that I am capable of to make this existence improved for others and myself, is to live. Do I believe in god? I am agnostic, however, I do believe mankind is limited by allowing his dreams to be dictated by fears. If I can face my fears and overcome them while improving conditions on earth, and perhaps leaving something behind of value for the next generation, I have truly lived a great life. I think the afterlife was invented by a man who could not face his grief and loss, the idea of an after life truly only exists with the living. I believe there is joy and suffering in all lives, and they both can be used to inspire us to live for a higher purpose, so long as we are awake while serving that purpose and it does not destroy life.

    There is a beautiful and emotionally fulling, dare I say “spiritual” feeling to the idea of living for a purpose, which is one of the attractions of religion. That purpose can exist outside of religion, fables, and outside of the idea of god. Those who choose to awaken from the dream of wishful thinking, are not without inspiration, beauty, love, and fulfillment.

    Excellent video, thank you for sharing. — Mel 🙂

    • Sainter says:

      Nicely expressed, Mel. 🙂

    • jrbsays says:

      Mel, as always you’ve captured the essence in a wonderful way. If we’d not had vowels, God could have been known as THB (Too Hard Basket), for understandably, what ever Humans could not explain seem to have been attributed to a higher being that eventually became known as God. I suspect that our Egos would also not allow us to believe that such wonderful ‘creations’ as us could possibly just end up as carrion. Surely Muffasa couldn’t possibly be right when he told Simba about the circle of life?
      To be honest, I tire of the arguments about the existence of God, because it can easily take up so much time that those of us who don;t believe should really be using making the most of our short existence. It seems to me that living an etical humanist life is far better that Pascals wager as it allows one to be true to oneself.

      Wonderful to hear from you Mel, I hope you and yours are well.

  2. Sainter says:

    Good find, J. I’ve seen a few of the clips but many are new to me. The atheist argument from the scientific perspective is hard to fault and I still agree with the general supposition. However I equally feel there is a need for moderate religious belief at this stage of our social evolution. Pure rationalism under the banner of “reason” cannot provide the subjective, emotion driven transcendental needs of the human animal. Science is knowledge but it cannot bestow on humanity the full spectrum of our psychological needs. We need the range of experiences we take from the arts, we need the intuitions and insights gained from the humanities, and as it stands at present, we need the comfort religious experience provides to an insecure, unsure global population that still fears death and finds hope in some kind of salvation. As an agnostic atheist I would advocate humanism to fill that role but its time has not yet come. The God debate is wonderful food for thought – I love it – but ultimately it cannot and will never prove or disprove God’s existence, and this is why faith flourishes. Faith is a funny thing: it is as illogical as it is logical – we are strange creatures. One day we’ll get there, we are destined as evolutionary beings to leave behind our superstitions.. I have faith in our species but it’s going to take time. But religious fundamentalim? Now that’s gotta go ASAP!

    Good post. 🙂

    • jrbsays says:

      Sainter, I tend to agree that rationalism doesn’t seem to make room for another Human specialty..emotions. It’s that Spock/Kirk thing again.
      As I commented above, I believe/think that living an ethical, humanist life is better than Pascal’s Wager as it allows one to be true to oneself whilst at the same time being true to the Gods we are told of alleged preferences (New testament at least).
      IMHO, what’s important for humankind (or more importantly, Earthkind) is that we are able to see what is good from the teachings of every creed/philosophy/theology (for each of them have their good as well as bad) and learn from them.
      I agree that the ‘God Debate’ is a distraction. It’s really no more important than any other circular argument. Ultimately, at their foundations, all sides of the argument are simply trying to find a good way of living and more importantly it seems, an acceptable way of dying.

  3. Sainter says:

    BTW, my next blog post is going to be about finding a rational middle path between hard line atheism and religious fundamentalism by way of the personage of…..Jesus the Radical Humanist. Gotta get my head around it first. Wish me luck. LOL

    • jrbsays says:

      Sounds like a great topic which I look forward to reading. Try imagining the world today if Jesus/Mohamed was a black, gay collingwood fan and see how you go. Oh, hang on, that might not work???

      • Sainter says:

        I reckon we wouldn’t be too badly off if the two Lords were black shirt lifters, but Collingwood boys? Oi! My imagination has its limits…thankfully. Some things don’t bear thinking about! 😉

        #gosaints

  4. Mel says:

    It is good to talk to you guys! (All Hail, Yeti)
    John, you never fail to amuse me, I am in your debt for the happiness you invoke. 🙂
    LOL, Oh MY! That description of a holy prophet nearly put my coffee in my lap! It was the “collingwood fan” that got me! That’s IS blasphemy! I’d be up for a holy war against that one! LOL

    Sainter – I too look forward to your blog! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

