Spock & KIrk Syndrome

I’ve been having a conversation with some friends about how, as a naturally divergent thinker,  whenever I surface from a spell of critical/rational thinking, I return to an instinctive feeling that logic and reason alone do not the man maketh. In my simple terms I call it the Spock & Kirk Syndrome…

I grew up in wonder watching (or hiding behind the settee during) Star Trek and Dr Who (I now relish seeing my kids hide behind the settee to Dr Who as well). For me, the core of Star Trek was the constant battle between Spock’s logic and Kirk’s feeling/intuition (or as I think of it as, his ‘Humanism’). Time after time we saw that Spock and Kirk needed each other in order to totally overcome their foes. Spock’s logic, critical thinking, knowledge and intelligence was never quite enough to win the day, nor was Kirk’s wit, charm, looks and humanity (although I confess I found myself liking his part more than Spock’s as he always got the girl).

My point is that I’m not (yet) convinced that science, logic, critical thinking (etc.) alone will ever provide the Human Race with all of the answers it seeks and/or help us to live in conscious harmony. Perhaps we all need our illogical dreams, hopes fears and desires to recharge our energy and, possibly, in order to remain human. I comprehend that logically we should disprove things rather than prove them, I’m convinced that a belief in God is not a belief in a real entity, I understand (OK not totally) that String Theory suggests we live in a Universe of multiple dimensions and probable realities, yet I still take great comfort from talking to my dead father (like Simba to Muffasa) and I dearly hope that my children will get the same comfort and guidance  from my memory one day. I refused to have my children Christened (but they know they can when ever they choose to by themselves), yet I took each of my newborn children outside, held them up to the stars to introduce them to the universe (OK, I plagiarized that from ‘Roots’, but it worked for me).

In short, I find that every Spock needs his Kirk and KIrk would never had made it to Admiral without Spock and until either can disprove my theory, I’ll stick to it.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Atheist, Humanist, Random Musing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spock & KIrk Syndrome

  1. Wayne says:

    Nicely said. I can’t help but like Santa Claus, even though he keeps missing my house. Mind if I sign up for your theory? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Spock & KIrk Syndrome | JRB Says -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

